
If you need help with a dispute about your 
telecommunications service or bill, first con-
tact your phone company. If your issue is not 
resolved, you can file a complaint online at: 

www.calphoneinfo.com or call the Con-
sumer Affairs Branch and Utility Fraud 

Hotline at : 1(800) 649-7570 

 

 

Be Safe—Not Distracted! 

You can be hurt or killed if 

you let your cell phone dis-

tract you while driving.   

Recent statistics show that 

your chances of getting into a 

crash increase 400% while 

using your cell phone.  
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It is against the law 
 
California law says:  

Texting while driving is against the law.   

Talking on your cell phone while driving is 

against the law for people under the age of 

18. Adults may talk on their cell phones but 

are not permitted to hold a cell phone while 

driving.  Everyone may use cell phones to 

make emergency calls.  Even then, it’s wise 

to first pull over someplace safe.  

The fines, for texting or failing to use a 

hands free device with your cell phone, 

may start around $160 and may in-

crease with additional tickets.  

 

BE SAFE!  Do Not Use Your Cell Phone While Driving  

Statistics 

The law and an awareness program went 

into effect in 2008.  Since then, accidents 

have declined; however, too many people 

are still hurt or killed because people contin-

ue to use their cell phones while driving.   

Between 2008 and 2010, 53 California driv-

ers were killed while holding their cell 

phones.  Cell phones were a likely factor in 

other traffic deaths too, because the main 

cause of distracted driving is cell phone use.   

In a recent study of 5,000 California college 

students, 18% said they had been in a dis-

tracted driving accident.  Of those, 22% 

were due to texting, and 14% to talking on a 

cell phone. 

 

 

It is  

dangerous.

It is dangerous to use a cell phone 

while driving 

Texting while driving can delay your reac-

tions as much as having a blood alcohol 

content (BAC) of .08.  This is the same as a 

drunk driver! 

Texting takes your eyes off the road for an 

average of five seconds.  This is long 

enough to travel the length of a football field 

at 55 mph.  Most crashes happen with less 

than 3 seconds' reaction time. 

 
Don't become a statistic.  Don’t make someone else just a memory.  

Turn your phone off while driving.   
 

For more information, see the California Highway Patrol's website and the California 
Office of Traffic Safety.   
 

For true stories involving cell phones and driving, see http://www.distraction.gov/
content/faces/index.html. 

Inattention Blindness 

Studies show that talking on a cell phone is dan-

gerous.  People talking on cell phones experi-

ence inattention blindness. That is   when your 

brain can’t see what is right in front of you be-

cause you are too busy with your call. 


