PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Resolution ET-1380 Transportation Division

RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE TEMPORARY MODIFICATION OF CROSSING PROTECTION AT EIGHT CROSSINGS OF THE SAN DIEGO AND IMPERIAL VALLEY RAILROAD COMPANY'S LA MESA BRANCH TRACK, IN LA MESA, SAN DIEGO COUNTY, FROM STANDARD GATETYPE SIGNALS, TO STANDARD NO. 1-R CROSSING SIGNS WITH OPERATIONS TO BE ACCOMPANIED BY A FLAGMAN DURING RECONSTRUCTION OF THE CROSSINGS BY THE SAN DIEGO METROPOLITAN TRANSIT DEVELOPMENT BOARD, AS PREVIOUSLY AUTHORIZED SEPTEMBER 24, 1987, UNDER GENERAL ORDER 88-A.

The San Diego Metropolitan Transit Development Board (MTDB) by letter dated May 3, 1988, requested that crossing protection at eight crossings of the San Diego and Imperial Valley Railroad Company's La Mesa Branch Line, in La Mesa, San Diego County, be temporarily modified from Standard automatic gate-type signals to Standard No. 1-R crossing signs (General Order 75-C). All trains would first be brought to a full stop and movement over each crossing to be accompanied by a flagman. One freight train passes over the crossings per day. The eight crossings are listed below:

Crossing Name	Crossing Number	<u>Location</u>	Final <u>Authorized Protection</u>
Lenon Avenue	36D-12.20	La Nesa	Two Std. No. 9's
La Mesa Blvd.	36D-12.30	La Nesa	One Std. No. 9 & One Std. No. 9A
Allison Ave.	36D-12.40	La Nesa	Two Std. No. 9's & One Std. No. 9A
University Ave.	36D-12.50	La Mesa	Four Std. No. 9's & One Std. No. 9A
Spring St.	36D-12.64-C	La Mesa	Existing protection
I-8 Off Ramp-R	36D-12.70	La Mesa	One Std. No. 9
I-8 Off Ramp-L	36D-12.71	La Mesa	One Std. No. 9 & One Std. No. 8
Severin Drive	36D-14.70	La Mesa	Two Std. No. 9A's

Resolution ET-1380 Page 2 of 3

MTDB as part of the construction of the East Urban Line to El Cajon, obtained authorization to reconstruct the eight crossings listed above on September 24, 1987, under General Order 88-A. The reconstruction generally includes the construction of a second track, extensive grading of the street sites, the installation of Standard automatic gate-type signals and Standard flashing light signals, and installation of overhead traction power apparatus. MTDB states that the temporary modification of the crossing protection during the period of reconstruction is essential in order to install modern updated electrical wiring for the new upgraded automatic crossing protection.

IT IS ORDERED that the San Diego Netropolitan Transit Development Board is authorized to temporarily modify the crossing protection at eight crossings of the San Diego and Imperial Valley Railroad Company's La Mesa Branch Line, in La Mesa, San Diego County, from Standard automatic gate-type signals to Standard No. 1-R crossing signs (General Order 75-C) and flagging of the crossings for a period not to exceed 90 days from the effective day of this order.

It IS FURTHER ORDERED that during this 90 day period: 1. No on-rail vehicle shall operate over the crossings unless it is protected by a member of the crew, or other competent employee of the railroad acting as flagman. The flagman shall place a minimum of two fusees on each side of the track prior to entry of the on-rail vehicle into the crossings. Written instructions shall be issued by the railroad to trainmen operating over the crossings, to comply with the flagging instructions. A copy of the instructions shall be filed with the Commission within 30 days after issuance thereof. Suitable signs shall be installed on both sides of eight crossings calling the attention of trainmen to the flagging instructions.

2. At the expiration of this 90 day period, MTDB shall place in operation the signal protection authorized by General Order 88-A on September 24, 1987, which will consist of Standard No. 8 flashing light signals, Standard No. 9 automatic gate-type signals and Standard No. 9-A automatic gate-type signals with cantilevers (General Order 75-C), at the eight crossings listed above.

This resolution is effective today.

Resolution ET-1380 Page 3 of 3

STANLEY W. HULETT
President
DONALD VIAL
FREDERICK R. DUDA
G. MITCHELL WILK
JOHN B. OHANIAN
Commissioners

Executive Director

Thin