PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

ENERGY DIVISION -

RESOLUTION O-0018 JUNE 25, 1997

RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION O-0018. THIS RESOLUTION GRANTS UNOCAL CALIFORNIA PIPELINE COMPANY (UNOCAL) AUTHORITY TO REMOVE FROM SERVICE ITS KERN GATHERING LINE NO. 166.

BY ADVICE LETTER NO. 13 FILED JUNE 24, 1996.

BACKGROUND

- 1. Unocal filed Advice Letter No. 13 on June 24, 1996, requesting authority to remove from service its Kern Gathering Line No. 166.
- 2. The Kern Gathering Line consists of 2.33 miles of four inch line, 16.95 miles of six inch line, 29.19 miles of eight inch line, 4.16 miles of ten inch line and 3.4 miles of twelve inch line.
- 3. Since 1992, when Unocal dedicated the Kern Gathering Line to common carrier usage, none of the pipeline segments described above have been used or useful in the provision of any public utility oil pipeline service.

NOTICE

1. The Energy Division noticed this letter on the Commission Calendar on June 25, 1996, and Unocal mailed a copy of Advice Letter No. 13 to customers, shippers and competitors.

PROTESTS

1. No protests were filed for Advice Letter No. 13.

DISCUSSION

1. The Energy Division believes this request is reasonable due to the lack of interest in

utilizing this line. For five years, there have been no shippers on these systems.

FINDINGS

- 1. Unocal filed Advice Letter No. 13 on June 24, 1996, requesting authority to remove from service its Kern Gathering Line No. 166.
- 2. Unocal's request should be granted due to the lack of interest in utilizing this line, hence making it uneconomic to maintain it.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that:

- 1. Unocal's Advice Letter No. 13, requesting to withdraw from service its Kern Gathering Line No. 166, is authorized.
- 2. This Resolution is effective today.

I hereby certify that this Resolution was adopted by the Public Utilities Commission at its regular meeting on June 25, 1997. The following Commissioners approved it:

WESLEY YRANKLIN

Executive Director

P. Gregory Conlon, President

Jessie J. Knight, Jr.

Henry M. Duque

Josiah L. Neeper

Richard A. Bilas

Commissioners