From: Cherry, Brian K

Sent: 11/14/2012 2:58:24 PM

To: Marzia Zafar (marzia.zafar@cpuc.ca.gov)

Cc:

Bcc:

Subject: Fwd: CPUC Cites Passenger Carriers Lyft, SideCar, and Uber \$20,000 Each For

Public Safety Violations: CPUC Press Release

Ouch!

Sent from my iPad

Begin forwarded message:

From: "Prosper, Terrie D." < terrie.prosper@cpuc.ca.gov>

Date: November 14, 2012 5:30:51 PM EST

To: "Prosper, Terrie D." < terrie.prosper@cpuc.ca.gov>

Subject: CPUC Cites Passenger Carriers Lyft, SideCar, and Uber \$20,000

**Each For Public Safety Violations: CPUC Press Release** 

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE PRESS RELEASE

Media Contact: Terrie Prosper, 415.703.1366,

news@cpuc.ca.gov

## CPUC CITES PASSENGER CARRIERS LYFT, SIDECAR, AND UBER \$20,000 EACH FOR PUBLIC SAFETY VIOLATIONS

SAN FRANCISCO, November 14, 2012 - The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC), in its ongoing commitment to public safety, today said it has issued \$20,000 Citations to charter-party carriers Lyft, SideCar, and Uber for illegally operating.

Charter-party carriers such as Lyft, SideCar, and Uber must obtain

operating authority from the CPUC so that the CPUC can ensure that the company is properly licensed and insured to carry commercial passengers.

Lyft, SideCar, and Uber were cited \$20,000 each for violations of state law, including operating as passenger carriers without evidence of public liability and property damage insurance coverage in effect and on file with the CPUC; Engaging employee-drivers without evidence of workers' compensation insurance in effect and on file with the CPUC; Failing to enroll drivers in the Department of Motor Vehicles Employer Pull Notice Program; and, Failing to pre-employment test and enroll drivers in the Controlled Substance and Alcohol Testing Certification Program.

"This is a matter of public safety," said Brigadier General (CA) Jack Hagan, Director of the CPUC's Consumer Protection and Safety Division. "If something happens to a passenger while in transport with Lyft, SideCar, or Uber, it is the responsibility of the CPUC to have done everything in its power to ensure that the company was operating safely according to state law. That means that the company has insurance to cover an accident and that its employees are protected and are suitable drivers. I look forward to working with these companies to bring them into compliance with our safety laws."

The companies have 20 days to pay the fine to the state's General Fund or submit a notice of appeal.

The Citations are available at:

http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/PUC/transportation/Passengers/CarrierInvestigations/.

For more information on the CPUC, please visit www.cpuc.ca.gov.

###

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Terrie Prosper

Director, News and Public Information Office

California Public Utilities Commission

Facebook I Twitter I www.cpuc.ca.gov