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LEGISLATIVE SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  SUPPORT 

  
SUMMARY OF BILL: 
 
This bill would require water corporations that have 500 or more service connections to 
meter new connections by January 1, 2010, and to meter all unmetered connections by 
January 1, 2020.  The bill would also require water corporations that have 500 service 
connections or less, to install water meters if the California Public Utilities Commission  
(CPUC) makes one of the findings: 1) metering will be cost-effective within the service 
area; 2) metering will result in a reduction of water use within the service area; and 3) 
metering costs will not impose an unreasonable financial burden.   
 
SUMMARY OF SUPPORTING ARGUMENTS FOR RECOMMENDATION: 
 
In 2005, the CPUC released its Water Action Plan which promotes metered water 
service to encourage conservation and provide water usage information.  In February 
2008, Governor Schwarzenegger announced, as part of his comprehensive actions to 
fix the Sacramento-San Joaquin River Delta, a plan to achieve a 20% reduction in per 
capita water use statewide by 2020.  The Governor added that conservation is one key 
way to provide water for Californians and protect the Delta.  In February 2009, Governor    
Schwarzenegger proclaimed a state of emergency due to the state’s ongoing drought 
conditions and requested all urban water users immediately increase their water 
conservation activities in an effort to reduce their individual water use by 20 percent.
 
Under Public Utilities Code Section 781, as currently written, the CPUC is prohibited 
from requiring water corporations to install water meters, unless the CPUC determines 
water installation would be cost-effective, reduces water consumption, and does not 
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impose an unreasonable financial burden.  Water metering is an effective method to 
encourage water conservation.   
 
This bill would modify outdated and restrictive water metering restrictions to be reflective 
of the state’s current water needs and conditions.  As a result, this bill would improve 
the CPUC’s authorization process and encourage the installation of water meters for 
regulated water utilities.  Further, the bill would provide a tool to help Governor 
Schwarzenegger’s goal of achieving a 20 percent reduction in per capita water use 
statewide by 2020.  This bill would also further the continued efforts by the CPUC to 
encourage water conservation among the customers of regulated water utilities.  
 
SUMMARY OF SUGGESTED AMENDMENTS: 
 
None 
 
DIVISION ANALYSIS (Water Division) 

 
• The CPUC regulates 129 water utilities and 13 sewer utilities.  These companies 

serve about 6 million people, about 1/6th of the population of California.  The water 
utilities provide about 20% of the state’s water supply.   
 

• Water meters are eligible for inclusion into rate base, so when a company adds a 
meter, it gets to recover the meter's cost in the CPUC’s ratemaking process.  If a 
customer continues to use the same amount of water, his/her bill would remain the 
same plus they would have to pay for the cost of the meter.  The CPUC’s view is 
that metering is good public policy as it sends the right price signals, and 
encourages conservation. 

  
• The Legislature has long recognized that water metering is good public policy that 

encourages water conservation and the judicious use of a precious commodity.  The 
Water Code requires metering of all new water connections after January 1, 1992 
(Water Code § 525), the installation of water meters on or before January 1, 2013 for 
existing customers (Water Code § 526), and the installation of water meters by 2025 
for all service connections constructed before 1992 (Water Code § 527).   

 
• Modifying the outdated and restrictive criteria from Public Utilities Code Section 781 

would also streamline the authorization process and encourage the installation of 
water meters for regulated water utilities.  This effort is consistent with the CPUC’s 
2005 Water Action Plan (WAP), which promotes metered water service to 
encourage conservation and provide water usage information.  It would also provide 
a tool to help Governor Schwarzenegger’s goal of achieving a 20 percent reduction 
in per capita water use statewide by 2020.  

 
• This bill would continue to make clear that the cost of metering programs can be 

recovered in rates, fees, and charges subject to approval by the CPUC. 
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PROGRAM BACKGROUND: 
 
• The CPUC’s recent efforts regarding water conservation have included: 

 
 Development and ongoing fulfillment of the 2005 Water Action Plan, which 

promotes metered water service to encourage conservation;  
 

 Processing of the Water Conservation Order Instituting Investigation (OII): in 
its Phase 1A decision, the CPUC has adopted an interim water conservation 
target for Class A water utilities of 3%-6% reduction per customer or service 
connection every three years.  This target will help achieve significant water 
use reductions and is in alignment with Governor Schwarzenegger’s 
proposed water conservation plan to achieve a 20% reduction in per capita 
water use statewide by 2020; 

     
 Authorization of the Water/Energy Nexus pilot programs, which are examining 

the coordination of water and energy conservation by water utilities; and  
 

 Members of the CPUC’s Division of Water and Audits (DWA), as well as the 
Policy and Planning Division (PPD), participate in inter-agency meetings that 
address the development of water conservation programs for California.  

 
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY: 
 
AB 49 (Feuer, 2009) would require a 20% reduction in urban per capita water use by 
the end of 2020.  The bill would also require agricultural water suppliers to implement 
best management practices (BMPs) by July 31, 2012.    
 
AB 2175 (Laird and Feuer, 2008) would have required the state to achieve a 20% 
reduction in urban per capita water use by December 31, 2020 and also required 
agricultural water suppliers to implement water use efficiency best management 
practices by July 31, 2012.  This bill died in the Senate. 
 
AB 2572 (Kehoe, Chapter 884, Statutes of 2004) requires urban water suppliers to 
install water meters by 2025 on all service connections constructed before 1992. 
 
STATUS:   
 
AB 975 is currently pending on the Assembly Floor.   
 
SUPPORT/OPPOSITION:   
  Support: Sierra Club (sponsor) 

Friends of the River 
  Opposition: None on file. 
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STAFF CONTACTS: 
Michael Poe, Legislative Liaison, OGA (916) 327-7788  mdp@cpuc.ca.gov  
 
Date: May 27, 2009 
 

mailto:mdp@cpuc.ca.gov
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BILL LANGUAGE: 
 

BILL NUMBER: AB 975 AMENDED 
 BILL TEXT 
 
 AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY  APRIL 22, 2009 
 AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY  APRIL 13, 2009 
 
INTRODUCED BY   Assembly Member Fong 
 
                        FEBRUARY 26, 2009 
 
   An act to add Section 781.5 to, and to repeal and add Section 781 
of, the Public Utilities Code, relating to water corporations. 
 
 
 LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST 
 
 
   AB 975, as amended, Fong. Water corporations: water meters. 
   The existing Water Measurement Law requires every water purveyor, 
as defined, who sells, leases, rents, furnishes, or delivers water 
service, as defined, for potable water, to any person, as defined, to 
require, as a condition of new water service, that a suitable water 
meter to measure the water service be installed, requires that the 
cost of installation of the meter be paid by the user of water, and 
authorizes the water purveyor to impose and collect charges for those 
costs. These requirements are not applicable to a community water 
system that serves fewer than 15 service connections used by yearlong 
residents or regularly serves fewer than 25 yearlong residents, or a 
single well that services the water supply of a single-family 
residential home. The Water Measurement Law contains additional 
requirements relative to the installation of water meters and charges 
for water relative to urban water suppliers, as defined. The Water 
Measurement Law authorizes a water purveyor, including an urban water 
supplier, to recover the cost of providing services related to the 
purchase, installation, and operation and maintenance of water meters 
from rates, fees, or charges. 
   Under existing law, the Public Utilities Commission has regulatory 
authority over public utilities, including water corporations, as 
defined. Existing law authorizes the commission to fix the rates and 
charges for every public utility, and requires that those rates and 
charges be just and reasonable. The existing Public Utilities Act 
prohibits the commission from requiring certain water corporations, 
or a residential customer of those corporations, to install a water 
meter, except after a public hearing held within the service area of 
the water corporation at which hearing all of the following findings 
are made: (1) metering will be cost effective within the service area 
of the water corporation, (2) metering will result in a significant 
reduction in water consumption within the corporation's service area, 
and (3) the costs of metering will not impose an unreasonable 
financial burden on customers within the corporation's service 
territory, unless the commission finds metering is necessary to 
assure continuation of an adequate water supply within the service 
territory. 
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   This bill would repeal the existing limitation in the Public 
Utilities Act that limits the authority of the commission to require 
a water corporation to install water meters. The bill would require a 
water corporation with 500 or more service connections that is not 
subject to specified requirements of the Water Measurement Law to 
install a water meter on each new service connection and, by not 
later than January 1, 2020, to install, on and after January 1, 2010, 
a water meter upon each unmetered service connection. The bill would 
require a water corporation with less than 500 service connections 
as of January 1, 2010, that thereafter reaches 500 or more service 
connections and that is not subject to specified requirements of the 
Water Measurement Law, to install a water meter upon each unmetered 
service connection within 10 years after it reaches 500 or more 
service connections. The bill would require each water corporation 
that has installed water meters, or caused water meters to be 
installed, that is not subject to specified requirements of the Water 
Measurement Law, on and after January 1, 2015, to charge customers 
for potable water based on the actual volume of deliveries, as 
measured by the water meter, but  authorizes   
would authorize  the water corporation to delay imposition of 
volume-based water service charges for one annual billing cycle in 
order to provide customers with experience with those charges. The 
bill would authorize a water corporation to recover the cost of 
providing services related to the purchase, installation, operation, 
and maintenance of water meters in rates, fees, or charges, subject 
to existing law relative to approval of rates by the commission, and 
would require the commission to ensure that a water corporation 
complies with these requirements or the requirements of the Water 
Measurement Law. 
   This bill would authorize the commission to require a water 
corporation that furnishes potable water for residential  , 
commercial, industrial, or institutional  use through less 
 that   than  500 service connections that 
is not subject to specified requirements of Water Measurement Law, or 
a residential  ,   commercial, industrial, or 
institutional  customer of such corporation, to install a water 
meter at any water service connection between the water system of the 
corporation and the customer  if the service connection was 
unmetered on January 1, 1979,  if after a public hearing 
held within the service area of the water corporation, and upon the 
commission finding, based upon the evidence presented at that 
hearing, that (1) metering will be cost effective within the service 
area of the corporation, (2) metering will result in a reduction in 
water consumption within the service area of the water corporation, 
or (3) the costs of metering will not impose an unreasonable 
financial burden on customers within the service area of the 
corporation unless it is found to be necessary to ensure continuation 
of an adequate water supply within the service area of the 
corporation. 
   Under existing law, a violation of the Public Utilities Act or any 
order, decision, rule, direction, demand, or requirement of the 
commission is a crime. 
   Because the provisions of this bill would be a part of the act and 
because a violation of an order or decision of the commission 
implementing its requirements would be a crime, the bill would impose 
a state-mandated local program by creating a new crime. 
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   The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local 
agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the 
state. Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that 
reimbursement. 
   This bill would provide that no reimbursement is required by this 
act for a specified reason. 
   Vote: majority. Appropriation: no. Fiscal committee: yes. 
State-mandated local program: yes. 
 
 
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS: 
 
  SECTION 1.  Section 781 of the Public Utilities Code is repealed. 
  SEC. 2.  Section 781 is added to the Public Utilities Code, to 
read: 
   781.  (a) (1) Each water corporation with 500 or more service 
connections that is not subject to the requirements of Section 525, 
526, 527, or 528 of the Water Code shall install, on and after 
January 1, 2010, a water meter on each new service connection. 
   (2) Each water corporation with 500 or more service connections as 
of January 1, 2010, that is not subject to the requirements of 
Section  525,  526, 527, or 528 of the Water Code, 
shall install a water meter upon each unmetered service connection by 
 not later than  January 1, 2020. 
   (3) Each water corporation with less than 500 service connections 
as of January 1, 2010, that thereafter reaches 500 or more service 
connections and that is not subject to the requirements of Section 
 525,  526, 527, or 528 of the Water Code, shall, 
within 10 years of attaining that threshold, install a water meter 
upon each unmetered service connection. 
   (4) Each water corporation that is subject to the requirements of 
Section 525, 526, 527, or 528 of the Water Code shall install water 
meters pursuant to those sections. 
   (b) (1) Each water corporation that has installed water meters, or 
caused water meters to be installed, that is not subject to Section 
525, 526, 527, or 528 of the Water Code, shall, on and after January 
1, 2015, charge customers for potable water based on the actual 
volume of deliveries, as measured by the water meter. 
   (2) Each water corporation that is subject to Section 525, 526, 
527, or 528 of the Water Code shall charge customers for potable 
water based on the actual volume of deliveries, as measured by the 
water meter, consistent with the requirements of those sections. 
   (3) Notwithstanding paragraph (1), in order to provide customers 
with experience in volume-based water service charges, a water 
corporation that is subject to paragraph (1) may delay, for one 
annual seasonal cycle of water use, the use of meter-based charges 
for service connections that are being converted from nonvolume-based 
billing to volume-based billing. 
   (c) A water corporation may recover the cost of providing services 
related to the purchase, installation, operation, and maintenance of 
water meters in rates, fees, or charges. Rates, fees, or charges 
recovered by the water corporation pursuant to this section are 
subject to approval by the commission pursuant to Article 1 
(commencing with Section 451) of Chapter 3 and Article 2 (commencing 
with Section 727) of this chapter. 
   (d) The commission shall ensure that each water corporation that 
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is subject to the requirements of this section or the requirements of 
the Water Measurement Law (Chapter 8 (commencing with Section 500) 
of Division 1 of the Water Code) comply with those requirements. 
  SEC. 3.  Section 781.5 is added to the Public Utilities Code, to 
read: 
   781.5.  The commission may require a water corporation that 
furnishes potable water for residential  , commercial, 
industrial, or institutional  use through less  that 
  than  500 service connections that is not subject 
to the requirements of Section  525,  526, 527, or 
528 of the Water Code, or a residential  , commercial, 
industrial, or institutional  customer of the corporation, to 
install a water meter at any water service connection between the 
water system of the corporation and the customer  if the 
service connection was unmetered on January 1, 1979,  if 
after a public hearing held within the service area of the 
corporation, the commission finds, based upon the evidence presented 
at that hearing, that any of the following are true: 
   (a) Metering will be cost effective within the service area of the 
corporation. 
   (b) Metering will result in a reduction in water consumption 
within the service area of the corporation. 
   (c) The costs of metering will not impose an unreasonable 
financial burden on customers within the service area of the 
corporation unless it is found to be necessary to ensure continuation 
of an adequate water supply within the service area of the 
corporation. 
  SEC. 4.  No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to 
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because 
the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school 
district will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or 
infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty 
for a crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556 of the 
Government Code, or changes the definition of a crime within the 
meaning of Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California 
Constitution. 
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